I vow…

to become more disciplined in my spiritual life.  I’m not sure if I need to explain this one.  Maybe I do.  I’ll just say this:  I need to become a better hearer and doer of the Word. 

to stop getting so angry in the car.  People don’t know how to drive.  It annoys me.  I makes me very mad.  It shouldn’t.  I need to fix that.

to use “perspicacious”, “gasconading”, and “callipygian” as often as possible. 

to love my wife like she deserves.  Every day that goes by, I notice an area in my life that needs work.  This one has been on my mind a lot recently.  Deep down, I am a very selfish person.  I don’t like that, but it is true.  I am also a bit full of myself.  I’ll tell myself that I am doing so many things right – things that other husbands never think to do.  And I pat myself on the back and feel so good about me.  Then I go do or say something hurtful, inconsiderate, or stupid, and I see the effect it has on her.  I’ve got so much work to do to become the husband I need to be.  And it is a work that is never finished. 

to be more friendly to everyone I encounter.  Maybe a kind word from me is just what someone needed.  That sounds rather gasconading of me, doesn’t it?

to spend as much time with my kids as I possibly can.  I don’t want them to grow up thinking that their Dad enjoyed doing other stuff more than spending time with them.  I won’t get these years back.  Once they are gone – and they are going quickly – they’ll be gone for good.  My oldest is 8 years old.  He will be headed to college in less than 10 years.  I want to make these years count.  And that starts with just being there for them. 

to eat something that I love every week.

to discover a new band ever year.  I don’t want to be one of those people that stops listening to new music.  You know the type; the guy that stopped listening to new stuff in the mid-80’s – he’s the guy wearing the Wham t-shirt.  I want to discover new stuff.  I want to fall in love with new songs. 

to discover a new author every year.  Same as above.  I don’t want to get stuck just reading my favorites.  I want to find new voices.

 to learn how to make New York Style pizza at home. 

to keep in better contact with friends and family that do not live near me.

to tell my wife that those jeans make her look rather callipygian.

to grill some salmon this year.  I’ve never tried this and I think I would really like it.

2 thoughts on “I vow…

  1. “Deep down, I am a very selfish person.”

    You are not alone, Phill. Everyone possesses selfishness and pride within themselves. Some of us struggle with it. Those who don’t, should be.

    “I don’t want to be one of those people that stops listening to new music. You know the type; the guy that stopped listening to new stuff in the mid-80′s.”

    Or the guy like me who stopped listening to new music on a daily basis in the 90’s.

  2. Good point Ben. Thanks for commenting. And don’t be so hard on yourself, you still listen to new music – when you are around me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

