You spin me right round.

So, I almost died today on my way to work.  That’s an exaggeration, but who cares, it’s my story.  I live in Nashville and we got some snow last night.  The news people told us that we only got about 1 inch and 1/2 but it looked like quite a bit more than that.  Regardless, it came fast and furious yesterday and it made the roads very unsafe.  It took me 3 hours to get home after work last night – a trip that usually only takes about 40 minutes in rush hour traffic.  Being the dedicated, disciplined worker that I am, I came to work this morning even though the roads were still in horrible shape.  Unfortunately, the snow came too fast and there were too many cars on the road for the salt trucks to do their work.  The side roads between my house and the interstate were one big sheet of ice.  The interstate was not much better.  I made it safely and without incident to the interstate, but that is when things got exciting.  I was cruising at an unsafe speed of 20 mph when my mini-van started to wiggle on the road.  I didn’t over-correct because I knew that would just cause more problems.  I decided to let my van just steady out on its own.  I didn’t brake, accelerate, or anything else.  I just sat there and watched as my van started spinning in the middle of the interstate.  There were cars all around me.  I saw them multiple times as I went round and round.  As I was spinning I had some interesting thoughts.  I have always wondered what I would think about when I was in the middle of an “accident”.  Would I think about my life and how I have lived?  Would I think about my family: my wife and kids?  Would I start yelling profanities in my fear?  (I don’t use bad language so this would be a unique situation for me.)  Would I just yell something unintelligible?  No, no, no, and no.  I didn’t do any of those things.  Instead I sat there and thought, “Wow!  I am spinning around in circles on the interstate.  Look at those cars around me.  How are they not hitting me?  I wonder if I am going to hit the guard rail?  I don’t have a cell phone.  How am I going to call a tow truck?  At least I have a book to read after I wreck the van.  That’s a plus.”  Is that not the most boring conversation to have with oneself while facing a potential accident, or even worse, death?  Clearly I need to work on my near death inner monologue.

(For those that are interested, I didn’t hit anything or anyone while spinning.  My van ended up facing the wrong direction on the interstate, but somehow I was able to get it turned around and moving in the right direction.  I made it to work late, but I made it safely.)

Leave a Reply

