Watching Avatar: The Last Airbender with my boys.

If you don’t know who that precocious and happy looking boy is, then you need to rectify that as soon as possible. For those that don’t know, that is Aang from the Nickelodeon TV series Avatar: The Last Airbender. Aang is the Avatar and the last Airbender…that much was probably obvious…sorry about that.

Anyway…I started watching this show with my two boys a little while back. (For the record, my boys are 7 and 5.) They absolutely love it. While the show is aimed directly at 7-12 year olds, I have enjoyed it immensely as well. It is exciting, well written, funny, heartfelt, and action packed. The story line is simple enough for a child to follow but complex enough to keep adults interested. We just finished Book 1 (Season 1 in other words) and are preparing to tackle Book 2 soon.

I’ve decided that I am going to post some thoughts about the show once in a while as we watch it. Obviously I won’t be commenting on Book 1 much since we have already finished it, but I will be referencing it from time to time. Hopefully I can make this a weekly thing.

If you have children – especially young boys – or even if you don’t, give this show a try. I think most people will find something to enjoy. And for what it’s worth, don’t judge the show on the recent film adaptation. From everything I have heard and read, they don’t compare at all. Stick with the show.

2 thoughts on “Watching Avatar: The Last Airbender with my boys.

  1. Why does it have to be for boys? My daughter (Who will be 5 in August) is insisting on an Aang Birthday Party!!! Avatar is one of her favorite shows, along with She-Ra. We watch is nightly and discuss the events going on allowing for real world issues like fighting, losing your temper, and judging others. It has also helped me to enforce in her that their is no such thing as “girl” things and “boy” things!!!

  2. I don’t think I ever said it could only be for boys. I’m sorry if it came across that way. I have no girls so I have no way of knowing how they would respond to it. I’m glad your daughter loves it. I did say that most people would find something to enjoy – whether male or female, young or old. It’s one of the best television shows I have watched in my life. I am more and more impressed with it every time I think about it.

Leave a Reply

