The Elms call it quits.

This has not been a good week or so for me.  First, Lost is over.  I loved the Finale and I am going to really miss the show.  Then it was announced that Guillermo Del Toro has left The Hobbit.  I have been looking forward to that film for a long time and now it seems that it’s going to be an even longer wait.  Finally, this morning I read on The Elms’ website that they are calling it quits after 10 years as a band.  They are my favorite band.  Their music just speaks to me.  It works on a very basic level for me.  I’ve written a lot about them on this blog so I won’t belabor the point.  At this point I really don’t have much else to say other than to wish the band well.

Update 1:  I’ve decided that the best way to pay homage to The Elms is to listen to their music.  I’ve decided to start with The Great American Midrange, their most recent album.  My two oldest boys – 7 and 5 years old – love the song Strut.  So do I.  I recently showed them a YouTube video of the band playing that song live and they both just stood their with their mouths open.  They were simply amazed that there were real people behind the song.  After standing there for a minute they started dancing and singing.  It was a really cool memory that I will revisit often. 

So, I am currently on The Wildest Heart – track 4 – one of the most beautiful and heartfelt songs I have ever heard.  It’s simple, elegant, and totally sincere.  Most rock bands don’t have the balls to pull off something this sensitive and honest.  I will miss this side of the band. 

More to come as I continue to bask in the glow of some great music…

Update Number 2:  I have been working my way through their albums and taking some time to look a the digibook they have made available on their webiste.  Go here to see it.  Beyond seeing the great photos of the band, and reading some thoughts about some previously unreleased music, it’s just awesome to hear the songs Long Gone and A Place in the Sun as instrumentals.  Both songs work in this format and it really highlights how talented these guys were.  Beautiful stuff!

Leave a Reply

