District 9

Saw this over the weekend with my good friend Ben.  I think we both liked it but we had some processing to do before we could really figure out what we thought about it.

Well, I’ve thought more about it and I’m still not entirely sure what I think of it.  It’s very different from what I expected.  The story goes in directions that I did not expect.  It’s intense, violent, and very unique.  The acting is good from a bunch of no-name actors.  And in some cases – as in the lead character – he wasn’t even an actor before this film.  He was a director/filmmaker friend of the director of District 9.  He is very good in the film, taking the character through a bunch of changes and internal struggles.  He is a very well rounded and developed character.  It blows my mind that this film was made for $30 million because it looks much bigger than that.  It has some very well staged action scenes and a few “Holy crap!” moments.   

So, would I recommend it?  Yes…but you need to know a few things:  It’s violent.  It has a lot of bad language.  It’s somewhat political – but I don’t think it takes pot shots.  I think it has some very interesting and important things to say, and it says them in a very mature and reasonable manner.  If you are a sci-fi fan, an action fan, or simply want something a little different, I think you should watch it.  You might not like it, but it’s worth giving a try.  If you are interested in seeing it, don’t watch any more previews or commercials for it – you wouldn’t want to ruin some of the cooler moments.

One thought on “District 9

  1. I actually didn’t like the main actor at first. When we first meet him he seemed to be overacting his nice, geeky, and naive guy role. But that’s who he was. He completely changes over the course of the film. You don’t see such a transformation of character from an actor very often–well, not so successfully. I think we’ll be seeing more of this guy. At least I hope so.

Leave a Reply

